The first of many in 2013

My husband and I finally headed to the movies today. We haven’t been since The Avengers came out. Which was last MAY! Yeah we need to get out more. Which was was today was all about. Kicking the year off right by going on a date!

We chose to see The Hobbit. Silly us thought NO ONE would be in the theater to see it. But theater 3 was PACKED! We were lucky to find two good seats together. So armed with my medium popcorn, our shared medium soda, and my husband’s snacks brought from home (shhh!) we were ready for the nearly 3 hour adventure.

What I gained from The Hobbit was this: Martin Freeman was really playing John Watson dressed as a hobbit and not once did I hear Benedict Cumberbatch utter a word…yet he was listed as in the movie! A little irksome as I am having some SERIOUS Sherlock withdrawal! Right, I also discovered that I need to re-read The Hobbit sometime between now and the next movie. Which as I see from IMDB is next freaking December!! What the actual hell?

Anyway. A funny thing happened on the way out of the mall. The Mister starts finding all this extra candy/snack stuff in his coat that he brought along for the movie. To which I responded: are you a hobbit? Well, I at least found it funny. After the movie we headed over to The Cheesecake Factory for an early dinner. Now I like getting to eat out and this was even better as we had a gift card.

The downside comes when we factor in my gluten free diet. The odds of a place like The Cheesecake Factory having stuff I can eat is slim…the name should tell you that. But we tried. First I tried asking for a gluten free beer they were supposed to have, Bard’s Beer. They didn’t. Fine glass of wine it is. Upon mentioning the gluten allergy thing our waitress tells me she has to get the manager. So he comes over and tells me they can accommodate. But our waitress will need to double check with him to make sure what I want is ok.

Now I think this could have been avoided if they just made up a gluten free menu! But no they didn’t have one so I was flying blind. I figured I’d be safe with a Miso Salmon dish. Wrong, the sauce has wheat/gluten of some type…really? So I asked for the regular salmon dish…meh. It kind of bummed me out. Really all this running back and forth would have been cut had they a menu for me. It really isn’t a huge thing to ask for. At least I didn’t think so.

What we learned from this little outing to The Cheesecake Factory is to go across the hall to P. F. Chang’s because they have a huge selection of items and dedicated menu! But even with all that I had my first success to add to my jar – date night! Sure it isn’t anything major, but for us it is. So into my jar it went.

I still need to decorate it...but it is a start right?

I still need to decorate it…but it is a start right?

Only good things from here kids! In fact 2012 ended pretty well for us. We rang in the new year with some new friends we just sort of knew, then we went to their wedding, and well the rest is history!

We even heard great news from family. Looks like we’ll have a wedding to head to perhaps in 2013, but since they only got engaged yesterday I don’t think they’ve finalized anything at this point. But both of these events allowed us to end the year on a high note. Just as our first date, on the first day of the new year was the right way to kick things off.

I am really excited to see what 2013 brings to me and those I hold near and dear. I’m looking for it to be nothing but lucky ’13. Will there be bumps along the way? Sure, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed we don’t see any of the major speed bumps we had last year!

One final thing before I go pick up a book. I’ve got 52 to read this year. No time like tonight to get started right?

I picked up two things last year and today. One a SMASH book. You know the scrapbook-ish thing? Well, I was going to use it for tea related things. But I think I’m also going to use it as a 2013 success/awesome book thing. I also picked up a little pocket notebook to jot down the random idea that might come my way when I’m not right at my computer to drop it here.

Yup...fancy.

Yup…fancy.

So there you have it. I hope your 2013 started off on the right (or left) foot. Here’s to 364 more successful days ahead!

 

Leave a Reply

